CPD activities need to be relevant to the Addiction Intervention Competency Framework (2011), or best practice based on emerging evidence.

Each CPD activity is allocated points. Provisional and Registered Addiction Practitioners are required to complete CPD activities worth 100 points annually, and Associate Practitioners and Support Workers must earn 75 points annually.

There are four different categories of CPD activities.

You must earn points from more than one category, unless you are undertaking activities from Category 2: Formal Training and Education, which can make up your full points allocation. The four categories are:

Work-based professional development

This category includes activities you normally complete at your workplace, such as attending education sessions and providing clinical supervision.

Formal training and education

This category includes formal study, and attending workshops, conferences and live webinars.

Self-directed learning

This category includes activities you normally complete individually, such as writing a reflective practice journal or watching an educational video.

Professional activity for the sector

This category includes presenting at conferences, teaching or participating in research.

It is important to keep evidence of your CPD activities during the year, as we may require you to provide this evidence, as part of our monthly CPD auditing process.

Dapaanz CPD: How you can earn CPD points - click here to download CPD table

Download the dapaanz CPD points table to find out more about the different ways you can earn CPD to support your annual registration renewal.

our CPD log is a handy way to keep note of your CPD activities. Click on image to download log

Download our CPD log to keep note of all your CPD activity as you complete it throughout the year. Attach this log with your renewal application and ensure you include the dates you completed the activities.